November 15, 2022 3:32 PM
Last modified date: December 19, 2022 11:06 AM
Trystan Pugh

All finals in FIFA World Cup history

Click here for our 2022 FIFA World Cup homepage, including fixtures, TV details and tournament stats!

Excitement is building ahead of the 2022 FIFA World Cup and while the opening game is not too far away, it will not be a long before the showpiece of the final arrives.

Below is a list of all of the previous World Cup finals, dating back to the first in 1930:

Uruguay won the first-ever World Cup as they overcame a half-time deficit to beat Argentina by four goals to two. They added to that success 20 years later as they overcame Brazil in the decisive match.

Only two World Cups have been determined by means of a penalty-shootout. The first came in USA in 1994 when Brazil and Italy played out a goalless contest before the Brazilians edged the shootout 3-2. The second and most recent shootout occurred in 2006 when Italy and France could not be separated during the 120 minutes before the Italians lifted the Jules Rimet trophy in Germany.

Brazil are the most successful team in World Cup history with five successes but they last were last crowned world champions in 2002. In fact, that was also the last time that they featured in a final. They have only lost out in two of their seven finals (1950 and 1998) but the wait to add a sixth trophy goes on after Argentina secured their third world title in 2022.

TSZ Latest