Who has finished as the top scorer in each European Championship?

Ahead of EURO 2020, we look back at each European Championship tournament since 1960 to see who finished as the top scorer.

YearGoals scoredPlayerNation
19602Milan GalićYugoslavia
19602François HeutteFrance
19602Valentin IvanovUSSR
19602Dražan JerkovićYugoslavia
19602Viktor PonedelnikUSSR
19642Dezső NovákHungary
19642Ferenc BeneHungary
19642Jesús María PeredaSpain
19682Dragan DžajićYugoslavia
19724Gerd MüllerWest Germany
19764Dieter MüllerWest Germany
19803Klaus AllofsWest Germany
19849Michel PlatiniFrance
19885Marco van BastenNetherlands
19923Henrik LarsenDenmark
19923Tomas BrolinSweden
19923Dennis BergkampNetherlands
19923Karlheinz RiedleGermany
19965Alan ShearerEngland
20005Savo MiloševićYugoslavia
20005Patrick KluivertNetherlands
20045Milan BarošCzech Republic
20084David VillaSpain
20123Fernando TorresSpain
20123Alan DzagoevRussia
20123Mario MandžukićCroatia
20123Mario GomezGermany
20123Mario BalotelliItaly
20123Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
20166Antoine GriezmannFrance

There have been ties on several occasions, most notably in 2012 when six players all finished on three goals. The most goals ever scored in one tournament was in 1984 when nine goals were scored by Michel Platini, who also happens to share the overall scoring record with Cristiano Ronaldo.

For fixtures, results, TV schedule, top scorers and plenty more, visit our tournament home page here!

TSZ Latest