Every European Championship final

Here's a list of every European Championship final to have taken place since the first tournament began in 1960.

Year Host Nation (Final) Stadium City Winners Runners-up Score
1960 France Parc des Princes Paris USSR Yugoslavia 2-1
1964 Spain Estadio Santiago Bernabéu Madrid Spain USSR 2-1
1968 Italy Stadio Olimpico Rome Italy Yugoslavia 1-1, 2-0 (replay)
1972 Belgium Heysel Stadium Brussels West Germany USSR 3-0
1976 Yugoslavia Red Star Stadium Belgrade Czechoslovakia West Germany 2-2 (5-3 pens)
1980 Italy Stadio Olimpico Rome West Germany Belgium 2-1
1984 France Parc des Princes Paris France Spain 2-0
1988 West Germany Olympiastadion Munich Netherlands USSR 2-0
1992 Sweden Ullevi Gothenburg Denmark Germany 2-0
1996 England Wembley Stadium London Germany Czech Republic 2-1 (golden goal)
2000 Netherlands Stadion Feijenoord Rotterdam France Italy 2-1 (golden goal)
2004 Portugal Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica Lisbon Greece Portugal 1-0
2008 Austria Ernst-Happel-Stadion Vienna Spain Germany 1-0
2012 Ukraine NSK Olimpiyskyi Kyiv Spain Italy 4-0
2016 France Stade de France Paris Portugal France 1-0

Of the 15 editions of the European Championship, one final was decided by a replay (1968), one by penalties (1976), and two by the now defunct golden goal (1996 and 2000).

For fixtures, results, TV schedule, top scorers and plenty more, visit our tournament home page here!

TSZ Latest